You are in: News

Go here to access meeting registration form on Congress website:

The 2013 CSSI Congress will be held in Sheffield, UK.  Go here to the the meeting website to learn the details.  Registration will be activated in a few days:

The Executive Council of the Cell Stress Society International has established The Alfred Tissières Young Investigator Award. The award is named in honor and remembrance of Professor Alfred Tissières, a pioneering investigator in the heat shock and cellular stress response field.
Alfred Tissières was broadly known for his support and encouragement of young scientists and it [...]

Peter Csermely, former president and secretary of CSSI was elected to be a member of Academia Europaea. He also became the president of the European Council of High Ability (ECHA). ECHA was established 25 years ago to promote the cooperation of all European countries in supporting talents. Professor Csermely used his network science background to [...]

The most downloaded min-review published in Cell Stress & Chaperones in 2012 was recognized at the Sixth International Symposium on Heat Shock Proteins in Biology and Medicine, held in Old Town, Alexandria, Virginia in early November.  The review entitled “Regulation of Survival Gene hsp70″, authored by Jordan Silver and Earl Noble has had more than [...]

The Council of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has elected Professor Claudina Rodrigues-Pousada to the rank of AAAS Fellow. Fellows are chosen “whose efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished”. Dr. Pousada is honored for her distinguished contributions to the fields of [...]

This year marks the 50th anniversary of the discovery of the heat shock response by Ferruccio Ritossa.  The celebration has already started with the awarding of the CSSI Medallion to Ferruccio in his hometown of Dozza, Italy, in October of 2010.  Then, at the Fifth CSSI Congress held in Québec City in August of 2011, [...]

We have lost a pioneer of molecular biology and a larger-than-life player on the world stage.  Paul Doty has died at the age of 91.  Douglas Martin’s article in the New York Times hits the high notes.  Here I would like to add a few personal memories and thoughts about Paul along with his link [...]

Professors Franz-Ulrich Hartl (Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry) and Arthur L. Horwich (Yale University) have received the Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award for 2011.  They were recognized for their individual and collaborative work on protein folding in cells and their organelles.   They are shown below along with Professor John Ellis, another founding member [...]

For only the second and third time, the CSSI Service Award was presented during the Quebec Congress to Robert M. Tanguay and Antonio DeMaio for extraordinary contributions to our society.  Professor Tanguay has been CSSI President twice and was co-organizer of the two very successful CSSI International Workshops held in China in 1999 and 2004.  In [...]