Below you will find an archive of all CSSI Announcements.

Heat Shock Response pioneer Professor Susan Lindquist along with her lab group members who study HSPs send their congratulations to Ferruccio Ritossa on the occasion of the 50th anniversay of his discovery of the Response.  The broad variety of topics under study highlights the importance of Ferruccio’s pioneering work.  To view the video, click on [...]

Go to the meeting website for additional information.

The 2011 CSSI Congress will be in Québec City in late August.  The meeting dates have been set for 21 August – 25 August, 2011.
Meeting web URL is
(If you are unabled to view the embedded video, you can view it here on YouTube.)

It is a pleasure to announce the winner of  the Alfred Tissières Young Investigator Award for 2011.  Dr. Mathias Gehrmann was nominated by his mentor Professor Dr. Gabriele Multhoff.  Mathias will receive his award at the Quebec Congress and he will present a talk on his work.

In 2008, George Perdrizet, Larry Hightower and Bindi Doshi attended the 21st Annual Symposium on Advanced Wound Healing (SAWC) and the Wound Healing Society (WHS) meeting in San Diego.  We found many specific links between the interests of members of the CSSI and WHS.  The general overriding interest seemed to key on the term inflammation, [...]

Interim Director of the Dodd Research Center, Betsy Pittman, recently accepted the donation of the papers of the Cell Stress Society International (CSSI).  CSSI began at the University of Connecticut in 1999 by Professor Larry Hightower with the help of Professor Peter Csermely in Budapest and continues to grow in membership and global influence.  The [...]

It is a distinct pleasure to acknowledge that founding member of the Cell Stress Society International Carol A. Gross has been awarded the 2011 Selman A. Waksman Award in Microbiology by the U.S. National Academy of Sciences.  The citation on the NAS website reads “for her pioneering studies on mechanisms of gene transcription and its [...]

“Stress Proteins in Growth, Development, and Disease”
July 17-22, 2011
Il Ciocco Hotel and Resort, Lucca (Barga), Italy.
The Co-chairs for this meeting are Professors Judith Frydman and Lea Sistonen.   This will be the sixth edition of this meeting.  It is not broadly known that the CSSI was the driving force in proposing this meeting to the [...]

Congratulations to CSSI President Antonio De Maio who has been named Mentor of the Year for the Compact for Faculty Diversity Institute on Teaching and Mentoring.  The award was made in Tampa, FL on October 30, 2010.  Dr. De Maio is Director of the highly successful Initiative for Maximizing Student Diversity (IMSD) Program at the [...]

It is my great pleasure to share the news that CSSI Distinguished Lifetime Member and the 2003 CSSI Medalist Susan L. Lindquist was awarded the National Medal of Science by President Barack Obama during a ceremony in the East Room of the White House on November 17, 2010.  Susan was recognized “for her studies of protein [...]

Visit the website for this new e-book with chapters by Randall Kaufman, Amy Lee and many other experts.